Rain Shortened

Last Sunday’s birding walk was cut very short due to rain (contrary to what the weather service I use had stated). Before the rains drove me away (for the sake of my rather pricey camera and lens) I managed a couple of images.

(click on photos to enlarge)

Canada Goose

Waiting at the edge of the swamp for some ducks to travel past I noticed this Canada Goose nesting atop a beaver lodge.

Viewing the scene above a song bird could be heard close behind me. It turned out to be the first warbler sighting of the year, a Myrtle Warbler.

Myrtle Warbler

The rains arrived shortly after this photo was taken forcing me out of the trails prematurely. However I left optimistic for what this Myrtle Warbler represents to me; the start of spring/summer birding season.

Lastly here is a different version of a photo from the last post, because I rather like it.

European Starling

 

Author: gsctrailtails

Joe DuChene 57, amateur bird and nature photography

4 thoughts on “Rain Shortened”

  1. So sad your hike was cut short. Seeing that beautiful warbler definitely made me want to know what other beautiful birds were out there waiting to be seen. I’m looking forward to your next post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

